23 5-Star Predictions for 2023

We’re almost to the end of 2022 and to me, it’s time to think about two things: how this past year went and the direction I want to go in 2023. This includes things that went well that I’d like to improve on as well as things that I didn’t quite succeed at and want to do differently.

Today, I want to talk about 23 books that I’m looking forward to in 2023. Most of these aren’t published yet but they have been announced. This is something I’m looking to improve on from last year: setting more realistic goals that I can actually complete. I made a huge list of series that I wanted to get to in 2022 and only finished one of them. I didn’t make it past the first book of any others.

So, here’s to the end of 2022 and the new year – one filled with amazing worlds both old and new to dive into!

To Be Published:

Foxglove by Adalyn Grace

The sequel to Belladonna, the beautiful love story between Signa and Death. Foxglove will continue telling Signa’s story as she processes the events of the end of Belladonna. The cover is gorgeous and I can’t wait to revisit the gothic world of Thorn Grove.

Delicious Monsters by Liselle Sambury

From the author of Blood Like Magic and Blood Like Fate comes a mind-bending psychological horror focusing on two separate explorations of a mysterious mansion.

She is a Haunting by Trang Thanh Tran

Perfect for fans of Mexican Gothic, She is a Haunting is a haunting atmospheric horror story about Jade Nguyen and her five-week stay in Vietnam with her estranged family. This story looks amazing. I can’t wait to be spooked by the ghost of this strange house alongside Jade. Also, the cover is stunning.

Defiant by Brandon Sanderson

The fourth novel in the Skyward series, Defiant sounds like it will be the final novel of Spensa’s story. It comes out Fall 2023 and even though it’ll have been two years since the last one came out, I’m looking forward to rereading the first three novels and the novellas in preparation.

Reasons Why Not to Date the Best Friend by Melanie Munton

I read the first two romances in this series in 2022 and I can confidently say they are some of my favourite romances of all time. This new one will touch on the relationship between Maggie and Finn, who can be seen in the background of the first two novels trying to convince both themselves and others that they shouldn’t be together. Reasons Why Not to Date the Best Friend will give readers the payoff of the tension and connection between Maggie and Finn. Also, these romances are steamy to the max.

Bring Me Your Midnight by Rachel Griffin

A book about fate, love, witches, and the sea. I bought Rachel Griffin’s other novels to read, so this may be jumping the gun a bit, but I have a feeling I’m going to adore all of her books.

Adrienne Young’s New Adult Novel

The title of this novel was secretly revealed to Adrienne Young’s newsletter subscribers, but until she announces you won’t hear a peep out of me. Adrienne is my FAVOURITE author and I’ll read (and love) anything and everything she writes.

Crescent City 3 by Sarah J. Maas

After the ending of House of Sky and Breath, there’s absolutely no way that I wouldn’t give this one five stars (unless she screws this up, but I doubt it with how long she’s taking to write it). I don’t know for sure that it will come out this year, but I added it to this list just in case.

Realm Breaker 3 by Victoria Aveyard

The Realm Breaker series is the modern Lord of the Rings of my dreams. I expect all three of these to be five star reads by the end.

Legendborn 3 by Tracy Deonn

The build-up that this book is going to deliver on is going to be magnificent. Tracy Deonn’s writing is beautiful and I cannot wait to see what Bri does next (especially after that ending to book two!!!).

Defy the Night 3 by Brigid Kemmerer

I’m sure you’re seeing a trend here, and the third book in the Defy the Night trilogy will most likely be no different. I don’t want to give synopsis for all these novels since I would have to spoil them, but please check them out! Or search for the reviews here on my blog.

A Curse for True Love (OUaBH3) by Stephanie Garber

The finale to the Once Upon a Broken Heart trilogy! The second book was better than the first, so I have a feeling this one will be the best of them all.

Fallen City Duology by Adrienne Young (if they come out)

From Goodreads: “The Fallen City Duology is a Greco-Roman inspired fantasy where a glittering world, a lottery built on lies, and a forbidden romance come together as 18-year-old Maris desperately attempts to escape a city under siege.” I don’t know if one or both of these novels will come out this year, but if they do I think I’ll fall in love with them.

Forging Silver into Stars 2 by Brigid Kemmerer

Returning to the world of A Curse so Dark and Lonely will have rebellion lingering in the shadows and the continuation of a romance between the King’s Courier and a blacksmith. I loved the first book and I’m itching to see these characters again (perhaps after a Curse trilogy reread?).

Previously Published:

The Nature of Witches by Rachel Griffin

In this debut fantasy novel, witches have magic tied to the season of their birth. Except Clara, whose magic is tied to every season but comes with a terrible price. With a premise like that, how couldn’t you fall in love?

Wild is the Witch by Rachel Griffin

In Rachel Griffin’s second book, a young witch accidentally enacts a curse that threatens her magic and the world. She must team up with a boy who hates witches in order to save everything. Again, what a premise! Rachel Griffin, you might single-handedly steal my heart with your writing this year.

Forestfall by Lyndall Clipstone

The finale of the Lakesedge duology. This duology is dark, gothic, and magical. I have a feeling this second book is going to either going to be disappointing or magnificent and I’m desperately hoping for the latter!

Padawan by Kiersten White

As I’m sure many will agree, Obi-Wan is just the greatest. The cover of this novel sold me again and I immediately recognized the phenomenal artwork of Charlie Bowater. Padawan is a young adult novel that takes place before The Phantom Menace.

A History of Wild Places by Shea Ernshaw

A History of Wild Places is the only novel by Shea Ernshaw that I haven’t read yet. Every other novel has gotten five stars from me and I have no doubt that this one will too.

The Daughter of Doctor Moreau by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

A retelling of The Island of Doctor Moreau, The Daughter of Doctor Moreau is a historical, science-fiction explosion of secrets and questions and rising passions. Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s writing blends perfectly with whichever period she’s writing about and her heroines are strong, powerful women who encapsulate everything beautiful about their periods in history and cultures. I love the melody of her stories, from Mexican Gothic to Velvet Was the Night, which I reviewed for The British Columbia Review.

A Thousand Heartbeats by Kiera Cass

I personally loved The Selection series, but I was disappointed by The Betrothed and The Betrayed. I was hesitant to put this one on a five star list, but I’m choosing to have hope that this standalone, enemies to lovers romance is going to hit all those right notes.

Empire of the Vampire by Jay Kristoff

I haven’t heard one bad thing about Empire of the Vampire and the only reason I haven’t read it yet is the size. I don’t shy away from long reads, but I’ve had so many other books to read that I didn’t want to get stuck in a large novel for a long time. This will be a great novel, I’m sure.

Cursed by Marissa Meyer

Cursed is the second book in the Gilded duology. I loved the fairy tale and gothic vibes that Gilded delivered and I can’t wait to finish Serilda’s story and say that I’ve read every one of Marissa Meyer’s novels once again.

Whew, that was a lot of books! If you made it to the end, kudos to you! Thank you to everyone for reading.

What books are you looking forward to this year? Any five-star predictions?

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: